Conférences Massey 2019

Power Shift: The Longest Revolution

Sally Armstrong

Dans sa participation aux Conférences Massey de CBC 2019, l’auteure à succès, journaliste et militante des droits humains, Sally Armstrong soutient que l’avenir de l’humanité dépend de l’égalité de statut des femmes et des filles.

4 octobre 2019
1hr 40 mins

DESCRIPTION

Les faits parlent d’eux-mêmes : lorsque les femmes font des études, l’ensemble de la société en bénéficie. Lorsqu’elles ont de meilleurs soins de santé, l’espérance de vie générale s’allonge. À bien des égards, il n’y a jamais eu de meilleure époque pour être une femme : on assiste à un changement fondamental tout autour de nous, et on ne s’en porte que mieux. Pourtant, l’égalité promise n’est toujours pas acquise pour la moitié de la population mondiale.

Dans sa conférence donnée dans le cadre des Conférences Massey CBC 2019, l’auteure à succès, journaliste et défenseuse des droits de la personne, Sally Armstrong explique en quoi l’amélioration du statut de la moitié féminine de l’humanité est essentielle à notre survie collective, ainsi qu’à notre prospérité. Le passé peut nous en apprendre beaucoup à ce sujet : Sally Armstrong se penche sur les nombreux rôles que les femmes ont commencé à assumer dans la société, et sur l’évolution du développement des femmes en matière de sexe, de religion, de culture, de politique et d’économie. Elle nous apprend ainsi que l’inégalité entre les sexes nous coûte trop cher à tous, et que la véritable égalité avec les hommes est la seule solution pour les femmes.

BILLETS DISPONIBLES EN PRÉVENTE, DU 5 AU 12 AOÛT À LA BILLETTERIE 514-288-3161 CODE PROMO : MASSEY 2019

 

Distribution

À propos de l’auteure

SALLY ARMSTRONG est une auteure à succès, journaliste et défenseuse des droits de la personne. Elle a écrit quatre livres qui ont remporté beaucoup de succès : Ascent of Women: A New Age Is Dawning for Every Mother’s Daughter; The Nine Lives of Charlotte Taylor; Veiled Threat: The Hidden Power of the Women of Afghanistan; et Bitter Roots, Tender Shoots: The Uncertain Fate of Afghanistan’s Women. Sally Armstrong est la première journaliste à avoir sensibilisé le monde à l’histoire des femmes en Afghanistan. Elle a aussi fait des reportages dans des zones de conflit, comme la Bosnie, la Somalie, le Rwanda, l’Afghanistan, l’Irak, le Soudan du Sud, la Jordanie et Israël. Elle a remporté quatre fois le prix de journalisme d’Amnistie internationale Canada. Elle est également titulaire de dix doctorats honorifiques et a été nommée officière de l’Ordre du Canada.

2019 CBC Massey Lectures

Power Shift: The Longest Revolution

Sally Armstrong

In her 2019 CBC Massey Lectures, bestselling author, journalist, and human rights activist Sally Armstrong argues that the future of humanity depends on the equal status of women and girls.

October 4, 2019
1hr 40 mins

ABOUT THE LECTURE

The facts are beyond dispute: when women get an education, all of society benefits. When they get better healthcare, everyone lives longer. In many ways, it has never been a better time to be a woman: a fundamental shift has been taking place all around us, and we’re all better off. Yet the promise of equality still eludes half the world’s population.

In her 2019 CBC Massey Lectures, award-winning author, journalist, and human rights activist Sally Armstrong illustrates how improving the status of the female half of humanity is crucial to our collective surviving — and thriving. The past can teach us much about this: Sally Armstrong examines the many beginnings of the roles women have played in society, and the evolutionary developments for women over millennia in the areas of sex, religion, culture, politics, and economics. What we learn is that gender inequality comes at too high a cost to us all, and that the only way forward is for women to become truly equal with men.

CALL BOX OFFICE FOR PRE-SALE TICKETS, AUGUST 5 to 12,
514-288-3161  PROMO CODE: MASSEY 2019

Cast

Sally Armstrong

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SALLY ARMSTRONG is an award-winning author, journalist, and human rights activist. She is the author of four bestselling books: Ascent of Women: A New Age Is Dawning for Every Mother’s Daughter, The Nine Lives of Charlotte Taylor, Veiled Threat: The Hidden Power of the Women of Afghanistan, and Bitter Roots, Tender Shoots: The Uncertain Fate of Afghanistan’s Women. Armstrong was the first journalist to bring the story of the women of Afghanistan to the world. She has also covered stories in conflict zones from Bosnia and Somalia to Rwanda and Afghanistan, Iraq, South Sudan, Jordan, and Israel. She is a four-time winner of the Amnesty International Canada media award, the recipient of ten honorary degrees, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.